# LinkedIn character limits for posts, profiles and Pages

> LinkedIn posts allow 3,000 characters and fold after about 150. Comments 1,250, headline 220, About 2,600. Every limit, with a live post counter.

Page: https://omnisocials.com/linkedin-character-limits
Checked: October 17, 2026

Posts take 3,000 characters, but the feed folds them after about the first 150. Comments take 1,250, headlines 220. Paste a post below to count it and see where it folds.

## The short answer: Posts: 3,000 characters. Comments: 1,250. Headline: 220.

A LinkedIn post can hold 3,000 characters, on a personal profile and on a company Page. The feed folds it behind "more" after about 150 characters, the length LinkedIn's ad specs say avoids truncation. LinkedIn does not publish the cut for posts, and line breaks can bring it sooner, so put the point first.

Comments take 1,250 characters and headlines 220, the figures most guides give, though LinkedIn's Help Center does not state them. If a post runs past 3,000 characters, LinkedIn suggests writing an article instead.

- **Post**: 3,000 (About 150 show before "more")
- **Comment**: 1,250 (Widely documented, not in the Help Center)
- **Headline**: 220 (About section: 2,600)

## Count a post and see where the feed folds it

- Caption: up to 3,000 characters, about 150 show before "more".
- Hashtags: no fixed limit.

## Every LinkedIn text limit in one table. With where each number comes from.

| Field | Limit | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Post (profile or Page) | 3,000 characters | LinkedIn Help Center |
| Post shown before "more" | About 150 characters | LinkedIn's ad specs; not published for posts |
| Comment | 1,250 characters | Widely documented; not in the Help Center |
| Headline | 220 characters | Widely documented; not in the Help Center |
| About section | 2,600 characters | Widely documented; not in the Help Center |
| Custom profile URL | 3 to 100 characters | LinkedIn Help Center |
| Poll question | 140 characters | LinkedIn Help Center |
| Poll option | 30 characters; 4 options (5 on iOS) | LinkedIn Help Center; the API takes 2 to 4 |
| InMail | 200 subject, 2,000 body | LinkedIn Help Center |
| Message | Not published | 8,000 circulates |
| Connection request note | Not published | 200 (300 with Premium) circulates |
| Article | Not published | 110,000 and 125,000 both circulate |
| Page description | 2,000 characters | Widely documented; not in the Help Center |
| Page tagline | 120 characters | Widely documented; not in the Help Center |
| Image alt text | 4,086 characters via the API | LinkedIn API docs; under 120 recommended |
| Hashtags per post | No limit published | None in the Help Center or API docs |

Checked on October 17, 2026. "Not published" means LinkedIn states no number and the figures in other guides disagree.

## What a scheduled post must fit. Schedulers publish through LinkedIn's Posts API.

| Limit | LinkedIn app | Schedulers (the API) |
|---|---|---|
| Post text | 3,000 characters | No number in the API docs; keep to 3,000 |
| Poll | Question 140, options 30, up to 4 or 5 options | Question 140, options 30, 2 to 4 options |
| Poll length | 1 week by default | 1, 3, 7 or 14 days |
| Alt text | No limit published | Up to 4,086 characters per image |
| Mentions | Type @ and pick a name | Written as @[Name](URN); the name must match |
| Brackets and symbols | Typed as is | Must be escaped, or the text can break |

Every scheduler, OmniSocials included, posts through LinkedIn's API. OmniSocials holds profile and Page posts to 3,000 characters and first comments to 1,250, and escapes brackets and parentheses so posts keep their text.

## Write posts that get read. The fold decides.

1. **Put the point in the first line** The feed shows about 150 characters. Say what the post is about there; the rest is for people who tap "more".
2. **Break long posts into short lines** Short paragraphs read better past the fold. The counter's copy button keeps blank lines with an invisible character.
3. **Write an article past 3,000** LinkedIn's Help Center points longer posts to its publishing platform. Share the article in a short post.
4. **Headline: role and value** 220 characters is room for what you do and who you help. Put the most important words first.
5. **Keep poll options short** Options stop at 30 characters and questions at 140. A schedulable poll takes 2 to 4 options.
6. **Add alt text to images** Alt text describes an image for screen readers. LinkedIn's API takes up to 4,086 characters and recommends under 120.

## Schedule it with OmniSocials

Write once, and OmniSocials counts it against LinkedIn's 3,000 and every other network's limit. OmniSocials schedules posts to LinkedIn and 11 more networks from one calendar, and AI agents (Claude, ChatGPT and others) can plan and schedule through its MCP server. $10 per seat a month billed yearly, $12 monthly; 14-day free trial, a card is needed to start it. https://omnisocials.com/pricing

## Sources and method

Each limit comes from LinkedIn's Help Center or Microsoft's LinkedIn API reference, read on October 17, 2026. Where LinkedIn publishes no number but guides agree (comments, headline, About), the table shows the figure and says it is not official. Where guides disagree (messages, connection notes, articles), it says "Not published". The 150-character fold comes from LinkedIn's ad specs, not a post rule.

- LinkedIn Help Center, [Post and share updates](https://www.linkedin.com/help/linkedin/answer/a528176), Read Oct 2026. Posts can contain up to 3,000 characters.
- LinkedIn Help Center, [LinkedIn Polls FAQ](https://www.linkedin.com/help/linkedin/answer/a527270), Read Oct 2026
- LinkedIn Help Center, [Send an InMail message](https://www.linkedin.com/help/linkedin/answer/a546814), Read Oct 2026
- LinkedIn Help Center, [Manage your public profile URL](https://www.linkedin.com/help/linkedin/answer/a542685), Read Oct 2026
- LinkedIn Marketing Solutions Help, [Video ads advertising specifications](https://www.linkedin.com/help/lms/answer/a424737), Read Oct 2026. Introductory text: up to 150 characters avoid truncation, 3,000 maximum.
- Microsoft Learn (LinkedIn API), [Poll API](https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/linkedin/marketing/community-management/shares/poll-post-api), Read Oct 2026
- Microsoft Learn (LinkedIn API), [MultiImage API (alt text)](https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/linkedin/marketing/community-management/shares/multiimage-post-api), Read Oct 2026
- Microsoft Learn (LinkedIn API), [little Text Format](https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/linkedin/marketing/community-management/shares/little-text-format), Read Oct 2026. How mentions and hashtags are written, and which characters need escaping.

## Related guides

- [Best time to post on LinkedIn](https://omnisocials.com/best-time-to-post-on-linkedin)
- [How often to post on LinkedIn](https://omnisocials.com/how-often-to-post-on-linkedin)
- [LinkedIn image sizes](https://omnisocials.com/linkedin-image-sizes)
- [LinkedIn video lengths](https://omnisocials.com/linkedin-video-lengths)
- [LinkedIn hashtag limits](https://omnisocials.com/linkedin-hashtag-limits)
- [Schedule LinkedIn posts](https://omnisocials.com/linkedin-profile)
- [Connect LinkedIn](https://omnisocials.com/help-center/integrations/linkedin)
- [Create a post](https://omnisocials.com/help-center/creating-content/create-post)
- [MCP server](https://omnisocials.com/mcp)
- [REST API](https://omnisocials.com/api)
- [API reference](https://docs.omnisocials.com)

## FAQ

### How many characters are LinkedIn posts limited to?

3,000 characters, on personal profiles and company Pages alike. Spaces, line breaks, emoji and hashtags all count.

### How many characters show before "more" on LinkedIn?

About 150. LinkedIn's ad specs say up to 150 characters avoid truncation, but it publishes no cut for posts, and line breaks can fold a post sooner. Put the point in the first line.

### What is the LinkedIn headline character limit?

220 characters. That is the figure most guides give; LinkedIn's Help Center does not state it.

### How long can the LinkedIn About section be?

2,600 characters, the figure most guides give. LinkedIn's Help Center does not state it.

### How long can a LinkedIn comment be?

1,250 characters, the figure most guides give and the limit OmniSocials checks for first comments. LinkedIn's Help Center does not state it.

### What is the maximum length of a LinkedIn message?

LinkedIn publishes no limit for messages to connections; 8,000 characters is the figure that circulates. InMail is documented: 200 characters for the subject and 2,000 for the body.

### What is the character limit for a LinkedIn recommendation?

LinkedIn's Help Center does not state one. 3,000 characters is the figure most guides repeat, so treat it as a guide, not a rule.

### How long can a connection request note be?

LinkedIn does not publish it. 200 characters for free accounts and 300 with Premium are the figures that circulate.

### What if my post is longer than 3,000 characters?

It will not fit in one post. LinkedIn's Help Center suggests writing an article on its publishing platform instead.

### Do scheduled LinkedIn posts have the same limit?

Yes, keep them to 3,000 characters. LinkedIn's Posts API docs state no number, so OmniSocials checks the same 3,000 for profiles and Pages before a post is scheduled.
