Tools and comparisons

Later vs Planoly (2026): Which Is Better for Instagram?

Later vs Planoly compared on price, post limits, grid planning, link in bio, Instagram and TikTok features, analytics, approvals, platforms and MCP. Every fact comes from the two vendors' pricing pages and help centers, checked on October 18, 2026.

Robert LigthartFounder of OmniSocialsPublished 14 min read
Later vs Planoly: two Instagram grid planners compared side by side

Pick Later if you need an approval step, an inbox with Instagram and Facebook DMs, or up to 2 years of analytics, and you can live with post caps on its first two plans. Pick Planoly if you want the lower price, unlimited uploads on every paid plan and a link-in-bio storefront that sells products.

Key takeaways

  • Planoly costs less than Later on every plan: $14, $24 or $47 a month billed yearly against $18.75, $37.50 or $82.50 (checked October 18, 2026).
  • Planoly's paid plans have unlimited uploads; Later caps Starter at 30 and Growth at 180 posts per profile a month.
  • Later is the better pick for client sign-off, a DM inbox and up to 2 years of analytics. Planoly is the better pick for selling from your bio with Creator Store.
  • Neither publishes to X: Later ended X support on August 28, 2025, and Planoly only sends reminders.
  • OmniSocials is a third option for 12 platforms at $10 per seat a month billed yearly, but it has no grid planner or link-in-bio page, and Planoly is cheaper for small teams.
On this page
  1. Key takeaways
  2. How we compared
  3. Quick verdict
  4. Pricing: Later vs Planoly
  5. Later plans
  6. Planoly plans
  7. What you pay: Later vs Planoly vs OmniSocials
  8. Visual planning and grid preview
  9. Link in bio
  10. Instagram and TikTok features
  11. Instagram
  12. TikTok
  13. Inbox and DMs
  14. Analytics
  15. Team and approvals
  16. Platforms
  17. AI, API and MCP
  18. Who should choose Later
  19. Who should choose Planoly
  20. A third option: OmniSocials
  21. Frequently asked questions
  22. Is Later or Planoly better for Instagram scheduling?
  23. Is Later or Planoly cheaper?
  24. Does Later have a free plan?
  25. Can Planoly post to TikTok?
  26. Can Later or Planoly post to X (Twitter)?

Both started as visual Instagram planners, both still plan your feed on a grid, and neither publishes to X on its own. If you also post to X, Bluesky, Mastodon, Google Business Profile or Telegram, a third option, OmniSocials, covers those from $10 per seat a month billed yearly. Below is the full comparison, with every price and limit taken from the vendors' own pages on October 18, 2026.

How we compared

We compared Later and Planoly using their own pricing pages (later.com/pricing and planoly.com/pricing) and help centers (help.later.com and help.planoly.com), checked on October 18, 2026. We did not test either app hands-on. The criteria:

  • Price per month, billed yearly and billed monthly, and what each plan includes
  • Limits: posts, social sets, users and add-ons
  • Free plan and trial
  • Visual grid planning
  • Link in bio
  • Instagram and TikTok publishing options, and the inbox
  • Analytics history
  • Team features and approvals
  • Supported platforms
  • AI features, API and MCP server

Where a vendor's own pages disagree, we use the pricing-page figure and leave the disputed detail out. Where we could not find a feature documented, we say so instead of guessing. We make OmniSocials, so it shows up as a third column in some tables, and we say where it is not the better pick.

Quick verdict

CategoryLaterPlanolyWinner
Category: Entry price (billed yearly)Later: $18.75/mo (Starter)Planoly: $14/mo (Starter)Winner: Planoly
Category: Post limitsLater: 30 or 180 posts per profile a month; unlimited on ScalePlanoly: Unlimited uploads on paid plansWinner: Planoly
Category: Free planLater: 12 posts per profile a month (help center)Planoly: 10 uploads a month, mobile appWinner: Later
Category: Visual grid plannerLater: All plans, previews up to 60 upcoming postsPlanoly: All plans, with placeholder postsWinner: Tie
Category: Link in bioLater: Link in Bio page on all plansPlanoly: Link in Bio plus Creator Store storefrontWinner: Planoly
Category: Instagram publishingLater: Reels, Stories, carousels, collab posts, first comment, product taggingPlanoly: Reels, Stories, carousels, first commentWinner: Later (slightly)
Category: TikTokLater: Video, photo and multi-photo postsPlanoly: Videos with original audio, trending sounds pickerWinner: Tie
Category: InboxLater: DMs and comments, Growth and upPlanoly: Instagram comment inbox, Auto DMsWinner: Later
Category: AnalyticsLater: Up to 3 months, 1 year or 2 years of history by planPlanoly: History length not statedWinner: Later
Category: ApprovalsLater: Approval workflow, Growth and upPlanoly: Not documentedWinner: Later
Category: Teams and agenciesLater: Scale: 6 social sets, 4 users, $82.50/moPlanoly: Pro: 6 social sets, 6 users, $47/moWinner: Planoly
Category: PlatformsLater: 8, incl. Snapchat; no XPlanoly: 8, X as reminders only; no SnapchatWinner: Tie
Category: AI and MCPLater: AI credits; no MCP server foundPlanoly: AI ideas and captions; hosted MCP serverWinner: Planoly

Pricing: Later vs Planoly

All prices are in USD per month, checked October 18, 2026. Both vendors price per plan, and each plan is sized by social sets (one connected account on each supported network) and users.

Later plans

PlanBilled yearlyBilled monthlySocial setsUsersPosts per profile a monthAI credits a monthAnalytics history
Plan: Free (help center only)Billed yearly: $0Billed monthly: $0Social sets: 1Users: 1Posts per profile a month: 12AI credits a month: 0Analytics history: None
Plan: StarterBilled yearly: $18.75Billed monthly: $25Social sets: 1 (8 profiles)Users: 1Posts per profile a month: 30AI credits a month: 5Analytics history: Up to 3 months
Plan: GrowthBilled yearly: $37.50Billed monthly: $50Social sets: 2 (16 profiles)Users: 2Posts per profile a month: 180AI credits a month: 50Analytics history: Up to 1 year
Plan: ScaleBilled yearly: $82.50Billed monthly: $110Social sets: 6 (48 profiles)Users: 4Posts per profile a month: UnlimitedAI credits a month: 100Analytics history: Up to 2 years
  • Unit: one social set is one profile on each of Later's 8 networks. If you post to 1 Instagram and 1 TikTok account on Starter, that is 30 posts for each, 60 in total.
  • Add-ons (Growth and Scale only): an extra social set costs $11.25 a month, an extra user $3.75 and 100 extra AI credits $3.75 (the yearly-view prices). Starter takes no add-ons, so a second brand or a teammate means Growth.
  • Counting: a post counts when you schedule it, not when it publishes, and drafts count toward the monthly total.
  • Yearly discount: the pricing page says you save 25% on an annual plan.
  • Trial: 14 days on each paid plan.

Planoly plans

PlanBilled yearlyBilled monthlySocial setsUsersUploadsExtra social setExtra user
Plan: Free (mobile app)Billed yearly: $0Billed monthly: $0Social sets: 1Users: 1Uploads: 10 a monthExtra social set: Not availableExtra user: Not available
Plan: StarterBilled yearly: $14Billed monthly: $16Social sets: 1Users: 1Uploads: UnlimitedExtra social set: Not availableExtra user: Not available
Plan: GrowthBilled yearly: $24Billed monthly: $28Social sets: 2Users: 2Uploads: UnlimitedExtra social set: $10/moExtra user: $5/mo
Plan: ProBilled yearly: $47Billed monthly: $55Social sets: 6Users: 6Uploads: UnlimitedExtra social set: $8/moExtra user: $3/mo
  • Unit: a social set links up to one account on each channel Planoly supports.
  • Yearly discount: "Save up to 15%" with an annual plan, billed up front.
  • Free plan: runs on the Planoly mobile app, with 10 uploads a month (deleted images still count), 1 month of Instagram analytics and comments on your latest 5 posts.
  • Trial: 14 days on all paid plans.
  • Positioning: Planoly calls Starter "best for solo creators", Growth "best for small teams" and Pro "best for agencies".

What you pay: Later vs Planoly vs OmniSocials

Each price below is the cheapest plan that holds the setup, plus its add-ons, billed yearly (checked October 18, 2026). OmniSocials charges one seat per brand plus one per extra teammate, at $10 per seat a month billed yearly ($12 billed monthly).

SetupLaterPlanolyOmniSocialsCheapest
Setup: Solo creator, 1 brand, up to 30 posts per profile a monthLater: $18.75 (Starter)Planoly: $14 (Starter)OmniSocials: $10 (1 seat)Cheapest: OmniSocials
Setup: Solo creator, 1 brand, 60 posts per profile a monthLater: $37.50 (Growth)Planoly: $14 (Starter)OmniSocials: $10 (1 seat)Cheapest: OmniSocials
Setup: Creator with an assistant, 1 brand, 2 peopleLater: $37.50 (Growth)Planoly: $24 (Growth)OmniSocials: $20 (2 seats)Cheapest: OmniSocials
Setup: Solo freelancer, 3 brandsLater: $48.75 (Growth + 1 set)Planoly: $34 (Growth + 1 set)OmniSocials: $30 (3 seats)Cheapest: OmniSocials
Setup: Small team, 2 brands, 2 peopleLater: $37.50 (Growth)Planoly: $24 (Growth)OmniSocials: $30 (3 seats)Cheapest: Planoly
Setup: Small team, 3 brands, 2 peopleLater: $48.75 (Growth + 1 set)Planoly: $34 (Growth + 1 set)OmniSocials: $40 (4 seats)Cheapest: Planoly
Setup: Agency, 6 brands, 4 peopleLater: $82.50 (Scale)Planoly: $47 (Pro)OmniSocials: $90 (9 seats)Cheapest: Planoly

Bar chart of the monthly cost of seven setups on Later, Planoly and OmniSocials, billed yearly. Planoly is cheapest from 2 brands and 2 people, OmniSocials for solo setups up to 4 brands

The same setups as a chart. Prices checked October 18, 2026.

What the table shows:

  • Planoly costs less than Later in every setup above, and its paid plans never cap uploads.
  • OmniSocials costs the least when you work alone (up to 4 brands) or with one helper on a single brand.
  • Planoly costs less than OmniSocials as soon as a teammate and a second brand meet. At 2 brands and 2 people it is $24 against $30, and an agency with 6 brands and 4 people pays $47 against $90, because Growth and Pro bundle social sets and users. The same goes for 3 people on one brand ($29 against $30).
  • Later costs less than OmniSocials only for bigger teams: from 4 people working on 2 or more brands, or 5 people on one brand. For 6 brands and 4 people, Scale is $82.50 against $90.

Billed monthly, the entry prices are $25 for Later Starter, $16 for Planoly Starter and $12 for one OmniSocials seat.

Visual planning and grid preview

This is where both tools started, and both still do it well.

  • Later has a Visual Instagram Planner on its free and paid plans. It previews up to 60 upcoming scheduled posts, lets you drag and drop to reorder them, and shows scheduled, published and draft posts and Reels together.
  • Planoly puts the grid planner on all plans and says, "Yes, we invented grid planning." You can drag and drop to rearrange your feed and add placeholder posts to plan the look before the content exists.

Verdict: a tie. Planoly's placeholders help if you design the grid first; Later's planner shows a longer queue in one view.

Illustration of two grid planners side by side: Later's Visual Planner with scheduled, draft and published tiles, and Planoly's grid planner with two placeholder tiles

Simplified illustration of the two grid planners, based on Later's and Planoly's help centers (checked October 18, 2026). Not a screenshot of either app.

OmniSocials has no grid view. It plans in a week and month calendar with drafts and a preview of each post the way each platform shows it.

LaterPlanoly
NameLater: Link in BioPlanoly: Link in Bio, with Creator Store
PlansLater: All plans, one page per social setPlanoly: Every paid plan
Free planLater: Page carries a Later bannerPlanoly: Not stated
Sell from itLater: Affiliate links through the Later Creator affiliate integrationPlanoly: Digital products, courses, 1:1 consultations, Q&As, livestreams, memberships, tips and subscriptions, invoices and merch
FeesLater: No storefront, so not applicablePlanoly: No transaction fees on paid plans
IntegrationsLater: Mailchimp, Google Analytics, email collectionPlanoly: Shopify, Printful, Stripe and PayPal
Link analyticsLater: Up to 1 year (Starter and Growth), 2 years (Scale)Planoly: Not stated

Later's paid Link in Bio pages include buttons, linked posts, featured media and banners, affiliate links, email collection, SEO settings and no Later branding. Planoly turns the same page into a storefront.

Verdict: Planoly, if you sell from your bio. If you only need links back to your posts and site, Later's page covers it.

OmniSocials has no link-in-bio product.

Instagram and TikTok features

Instagram

FeatureLaterPlanoly
Feature: Feed posts and ReelsLater: Yes (each Reel counts as 1 post)Planoly: Yes, auto-posts to Business and Creator accounts
Feature: CarouselsLater: Paid plans, up to 10 itemsPlanoly: Yes; Planoly notes Meta's API limits scheduled carousels
Feature: StoriesLater: Paid plans, auto-publish for business profilesPlanoly: Single image or video, Business accounts only; Story captions are not posted
Feature: First commentLater: Starter and up, business and creator profilesPlanoly: Depending on the content type
Feature: Collab postsLater: Up to 3 collaboratorsPlanoly: Not stated on the pages we checked
Feature: Product taggingLater: Growth and upPlanoly: Named as a paid feature in its MCP guide
Feature: Trending audioLater: Notification publishing: you post manually with music or stickersPlanoly: Push notification to post natively

Planoly cannot auto-post to personal Instagram accounts; Reels with original audio auto-post. Later also offers user and location tagging from Starter.

TikTok

  • Later publishes TikTok videos, photo posts and multi-photo posts (photo posts on desktop and iOS only), and shows a TikTok best time to post on all plans.
  • Planoly auto-posts TikTok videos with original audio, including the caption and cover, and has a trending sounds picker. Trending audio needs a native post through a push notification.

Inbox and DMs

  • Later's Social Inbox is on Growth and Scale: DMs for Instagram and Facebook, comments for Instagram, Facebook and TikTok. It is desktop only and labelled beta.
  • Planoly has an Instagram comment inbox on paid plans. We found no unified DM inbox; instead, Auto DMs reply to Instagram comments and DMs by trigger keyword, on every plan.

OmniSocials schedules Instagram feed posts, carousels, Reels and Stories, can add a first comment to posts, runs comment-to-DM automations on Instagram, and answers messages from 7 platforms in one inbox.

Analytics

Later states its history limits plainly:

  • Instagram, TikTok and Facebook analytics go back up to 3 months on Starter, 1 year on Growth and 2 years on Scale.
  • Pinterest analytics go back up to 3 months on all plans.
  • LinkedIn analytics cover personal profiles only.
  • Custom Analytics (cross-platform reports, Meta Ads organic vs paid, scheduled reports) and competitor benchmarking (up to 20 competitors, Instagram only) are Scale only.
  • The free plan has no analytics.

Planoly promises "analytics for all major social platforms" but does not state metrics or history length for paid plans on any current page we found. The free plan shows 1 month of Instagram data, only posts scheduled through Planoly show performance data, and analytics through its MCP server need an Instagram Business account.

Verdict: Later, because you know what you get on each plan.

OmniSocials includes analytics and reports in every seat. It has no competitor benchmarking.

Team and approvals

LaterPlanoly
Users includedLater: 1 (Starter), 2 (Growth), 4 (Scale)Planoly: 1 (Starter), 2 (Growth), 6 (Pro)
Extra usersLater: $3.75/mo, Growth and ScalePlanoly: $5/mo on Growth, $3/mo on Pro
Comments on postsLater: Growth and up, with an activity logPlanoly: Teamwork: comments and @mentions, paid plans
Approval workflowLater: Content Approval Workflow, Growth and upPlanoly: Not documented
External reviewersLater: External Comment Workflow; no Later login needed, links expire after 7 daysPlanoly: Plan Report: a shared content preview (paid web feature)

Later's approvals do not cover Instagram Stories, and Growth also adds custom roles and permissions. Planoly's help center describes comments and a shareable preview, but we found no approve or reject step, so we mark approvals as not documented.

Verdict: Later for client sign-off. Planoly for a bigger team on a budget, since Pro includes 6 users.

OmniSocials has approval workflows on every seat: reviewers comment, request changes or approve, and roles decide who can post, reply or see analytics.

Platforms

PlatformLaterPlanolyOmniSocials
Platform: InstagramLater: YesPlanoly: YesOmniSocials: Yes
Platform: FacebookLater: YesPlanoly: YesOmniSocials: Yes
Platform: TikTokLater: YesPlanoly: YesOmniSocials: Yes
Platform: PinterestLater: YesPlanoly: YesOmniSocials: Yes
Platform: LinkedInLater: YesPlanoly: YesOmniSocials: Yes, profile and Page
Platform: YouTubeLater: Shorts onlyPlanoly: YesOmniSocials: Yes
Platform: ThreadsLater: YesPlanoly: YesOmniSocials: Yes
Platform: X (Twitter)Later: No, support ended Aug 28, 2025Planoly: Reminders only, you post by handOmniSocials: Yes
Platform: SnapchatLater: YesPlanoly: Not listedOmniSocials: No
Platform: BlueskyLater: NoPlanoly: Not listedOmniSocials: Yes
Platform: MastodonLater: NoPlanoly: Not listedOmniSocials: Yes
Platform: Google Business ProfileLater: NoPlanoly: Not listedOmniSocials: Yes
Platform: TelegramLater: Not listedPlanoly: Not listedOmniSocials: Yes

Later stopped new X connections on July 30, 2025, and since August 28, 2025 posts scheduled for X do not publish and X analytics stopped. Planoly's help FAQ also lists Amazon among its supported platforms. OmniSocials X posts that contain a link use pass-through credits.

AI, API and MCP

Later includes AI credits: 5 a month on Starter, 50 on Growth and 100 on Scale, with 100 extra credits for $3.75 a month on Growth and Scale (yearly-view price). A search for "MCP" in Later's help center returns no articles. The only developer API we found is the Later Influence Reporting API, for influencer campaign reporting with credentials from an account manager, not for scheduling posts.

Planoly offers AI content ideas, keyword recommendations and caption suggestions on every plan. It also runs a hosted MCP server at mcp.planoly.com that works with Claude, ChatGPT, Claude Code and Gemini CLI. Its tools cover workspaces, channels, the media library, creating and scheduling posts, Instagram locations and products, TikTok trending sounds, Instagram analytics and shareable reports. Planoly's setup guide says drafting and scheduling through MCP do not need a paid Planoly plan, but the media library, analytics, shareable reports, trending sounds and product tagging do. X through MCP is reminders only. We found no public REST API.

Verdict: Planoly, for anyone who wants an AI agent to plan Instagram posts.

OmniSocials has an MCP server too, with 56 tools on the hosted server, plus a public REST API, a CLI and SDKs in 8 languages, in every seat.

Who should choose Later

  • You need client or manager sign-off: the approval workflow and external reviewers without a login start on Growth.
  • You want Instagram and Facebook DMs and comments from Instagram, Facebook and TikTok in one inbox.
  • You want analytics history of up to 1 or 2 years, Custom Analytics or competitor benchmarking on Scale.
  • You use collab posts or product tagging on Instagram, or post to Snapchat.
  • You stay under 30 posts per profile a month on Starter, or 180 on Growth.

Who should choose Planoly

  • You want the lower price: $14 a month billed yearly, with unlimited uploads on every paid plan.
  • You sell from your bio: Creator Store sells digital products, courses, bookings, memberships and merch with no transaction fees on paid plans.
  • You plan the grid first, with placeholder posts.
  • You run several brands with a team on a budget: Pro covers 6 social sets and 6 users for $47 a month billed yearly.
  • You want an AI agent to draft and schedule Instagram posts through Planoly's MCP server.

A third option: OmniSocials

Later and Planoly are both built around Instagram. If Instagram is one channel among many, OmniSocials covers what neither does:

  • 12 platforms: Instagram, Facebook, X, LinkedIn (profile and Page), TikTok, YouTube, Pinterest, Threads, Bluesky, Mastodon, Google Business Profile and Telegram, all auto-published.
  • No monthly post cap on any seat.
  • One inbox for 7 platforms: Instagram and Facebook DMs, comments and mentions, LinkedIn Page comments and mentions, TikTok and YouTube comments, X DMs and Threads replies.
  • Approval workflows on every seat, not only on higher plans.
  • Built for AI agents and code: a REST API, an MCP server with 56 tools, a CLI and SDKs in 8 languages, so Claude, ChatGPT or your own scripts can fill the calendar.
  • Price: $10 per seat a month billed yearly, $12 billed monthly. One seat per brand plus one per extra teammate, with a 14-day free trial.

Where OmniSocials is not the better pick:

  • No visual Instagram grid planner. If you design your feed on a grid, Later or Planoly fits better.
  • No link-in-bio page or storefront. Keep Later's Link in Bio or Planoly's Creator Store.
  • No Snapchat, no native mobile app (it runs in the mobile browser) and no competitor benchmarking.
  • No free plan. Both Later and Planoly have a limited one.
  • Teams pay more. Planoly is cheaper as soon as a teammate and a second brand meet, and Later is cheaper for 4 or more people on 2 or more brands (see the pricing table above).

For a full side-by-side, see OmniSocials vs Later and OmniSocials vs Planoly. Comparing the bigger multi-platform tools instead? Read Hootsuite vs Buffer.

Frequently asked questions

Is Later or Planoly better for Instagram scheduling?

Both plan your Instagram feed on a visual grid and auto-publish Reels, carousels and Stories to business accounts. Planoly is the better value: it starts at $14 a month billed yearly against $18.75 for Later, with unlimited uploads on every paid plan. Later is the better pick for teams, with an approval workflow, a DM inbox and up to 2 years of analytics on its higher plans. If you also post to X, Bluesky, Mastodon or Google Business Profile, OmniSocials publishes to all of them from $10 per seat a month billed yearly (prices checked October 18, 2026).

Is Later or Planoly cheaper?

Planoly. Billed yearly, Planoly costs $14, $24 or $47 a month (Starter, Growth, Pro) and Later $18.75, $37.50 or $82.50 (Starter, Growth, Scale). Billed monthly it is $16, $28 or $55 against $25, $50 or $110. Planoly's paid plans also have unlimited uploads, while Later caps Starter at 30 and Growth at 180 posts per profile a month (checked October 18, 2026).

Does Later have a free plan?

Yes, a limited one. Later's pricing page only shows a 14-day free trial, but its help center describes a Free plan with 1 social set, 1 user, 12 posts per profile a month, 1 YouTube Short a month, a calendar limited to 2 weeks back and ahead, and a Link in Bio page with Later branding. It has no analytics, no AI credits, no carousels and no Stories (checked October 18, 2026).

Can Planoly post to TikTok?

Yes. Planoly auto-posts TikTok videos with original audio, including the caption and cover, and has a trending sounds picker. A video with trending audio has to be posted natively through a push notification. Later also posts to TikTok, including photo and multi-photo posts on desktop and iOS.

Can Later or Planoly post to X (Twitter)?

Not on their own. Later ended X support on August 28, 2025, and posts scheduled for that date or later do not publish. Planoly lists X in its social set but only sends a reminder at the planned time, so you post by hand. OmniSocials publishes to X directly, next to 11 other platforms; X posts with a link use pass-through credits.

Written byRobert LigthartFounder of OmniSocials

Try OmniSocials for 14 days

Plan, schedule and answer on 12 platforms from one calendar, or let your AI agent do it. The first charge comes when the trial ends.